Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What to do?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Steve Clark, Jun 29, 2004.

1. Steve Clark

Steve Clark Supporting Member

Jan 9, 2004
    London ON
    I'm a 38 year old bassist getting back into the local scene. I graduated from a jazz performace program years ago so my heart lies in getting a gig playing some kind a jazz/blues/funk thing.

At the moment I am rehearsing with a band that want to go places, tour, etc. The singer and one of the guitar players are well connected (and talented). We need a better drummer though. "Aint go no groove if you ain't got no pocket"

My dilemma relates to the song material being chosen. Some tunes are great for me, Tear Your Playhouse Down (Pino Palladino groove), some Colin James blues tunes (more rock than blues) and some standard stuff like Mustang Sally and so on. But after that it gets a bit weird. We were all asked to throw some tunes onto CD for everyone to consider. I chose a few more Paul Young ( read Pino Palladino ) among others. But some suggestions make for a REALLY weird set list. Pink Floyd, Stone Temple Pilots, Eve 6, RHCP, Phish, Van Halen and to top it off Def Leppard. Sheesh. A cover band is one thing but does this seem really mixed up to you guys or is it just me. Is this what cover band do these days? Sure not all the songs on the list will end up on a set list but it seems that we are suffering from an identity crisis at this point.

I have already said, politely, from the very first rehearsal that I am not really interested in being in a hard rock cover band. No offense intended to any hard rockin' TB'ers. As I said earlier I am looking for a gig that challenges me musically with some jazz, blues, funk thrown in. That said my tastes run from Scofield to Primus to Gov't Mule. Now a Gov't Mule cover band would be very interesting. :D