1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

what to do?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by FloydODB, Apr 4, 2006.

1. FloydODB

FloydODB

Apr 4, 2006
    hello evryone. srry, I'm a drummer and invaded your forum. lol
    read alot of threads and wanted to say evryone seams very nice. great forum!!
    so, too bad not evry bass player is nice. here's the problem
    our band keeps breaking up(over the last 5 years) and getting back together basically because our bassist is a pin head. he's still tokes, not as much as he use to, he's always late with some lame excuse, sometimes 30 min late for actuall gigs, he use to book us but now that he owes the booky money the booky wont book us or would book us at some hole. so one of the guitarist is running things now. recently found out he tried to undercut(go around) our booky and another band and now a regular club doesnt want to hire us caues he's in the band.
    I've......we've tried for years to audition new bass players but cant find what we need. good harmony vocals, lead vocals a plus, good improvisational skills, the willingness to play both rock and country. not tear jerking country but moddern rockabilly country rock stuff. as a band we're very versatile and almost willing to play anything at least once.
    we like to play at least 2 weekends a month but dont want to play evry single weekend of the year. some of us are family guys
    this stuff use to piss me off but no as long as it doesnt effect my personal life outside the band I'll just show up and jam until the next time
    so...........do any of you live near kalamzoo MI?

2. Man, sorry to hear your problems. Sounds like you are doing the right thing by finding another bass player. Good luck.

Read this in a book: