what to do?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by steve-o, May 20, 2002.

1. steve-o

steve-o Guest

Apr 17, 2002
    i have been playing for 8 months now.
    i hit a flat spot in learning.
    what can i do to make my playing more advance!!
    i really want to play for a living!!
    i am still going to college thou.
    as an electrical engineer.
    but anyway what can i do to help me achieve this goal!!
    i would love to do studio work so what can i do???

2. Practice everything. anything you can get your hands on try to learn. If you cant read music try to learn. If they offer a music theory class for non majors take it, it will help you enormously. If you can minor in music do it, thats what im doing. Try to establish certain excercises that you can do every day that you can work on for the rest of your life that will always help you improve. And, finally, use a metronome. One thing though, have a clear idea of what you want to do with music and set up a plan accordingly. I dont think I ever really learned that much on bass untill I started thinking for myself. I never had a teacher but It didnt stop me from learning. No doubt that teachers help but only you can make yourself a great musician. Another thing, you should deffinetley network yourself with other musicians who you most certainly learn from but who will aslo keep you inspired and motivated. Im sure other people on here will give you much better advice, but I hope this helps.
  3. Anytime I've seemed to plateau a little I just keep practicing and eventually I'll work my way through it. Maybe it's just me but I seem to improve in short spurts and it seems like there is no progress in between.
  4. cassanova

Sep 4, 2000
    if you want to do session work then learn to site read. You'll also have to be somewhat versatile, so learn as many different styles of music as you can..the more versatile you are, the better your odds are of getting a call for some work will be.