1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

What to learn when you can do a lot but don't know a lot.

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by bassash, Apr 3, 2006.

1. bassash

bassash

Mar 23, 2006
    I'm frustrated. I'm a technical bassist, who's got a good ear. I can lay down a good groove, whether slapping or finger style, I have stamina and can play quickly blah blah but... my theory knowledge is poor. And it's sooo hard to motivate myself to learn much, since I'm having plenty of success without theory. But that doesn't mean I don't want to learn. I just need to know I'm doing the right thing.

I've been able to play well in my band and write good basslines, but I get the feeling some of it is luck and just having excellent other musicians. And I find every bit of limited knowledge I accumulate I manage to incorporate it well into my style. But where do I begin to learn my theory properly?

I know all the notes on the E and A string and through octaves I can easily work out the rest, but when it comes down to modes and scales (with the exception of the pentatonics and most of minor and major) I know very little else. I often just play around and work out a good bassline, but I'm thinking if I knew more I could be so much better a bassist.

So boiling all this preamble to one question, where do I start? I can't fork out for lessons, since I'm a student. Do I learn arpeggios first, learn all the scales? I've got a couple beginner books and such, but they aren't very comprehensive and don't really help you help yourself.

So basically, what do I learn now? And then from there where do I go? The sticky offers many sites but which one first?