1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

What to listen for with mismatched cabs (out of phase, one cab over-powered, etc)?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Phlipper, Mar 10, 2013.

1. Phlipper

Phlipper

Feb 5, 2013
    Fayetteville, NC
    Endorsing Artist: Old SS Peavey Lead Sleds and Peavey tube amps
    I'm making the switch fulltime from guitar to bass and trying to read all I can about cabs and amps. I'm a typical tube snob guitarist who sometimes fretted over minute details on amps, tube combinations, booteek pedals, etc., but the bass side is new to me. Lots to learn.

I'm still a bit perplexed by cab mismatches and what I would be hearing (or should be listening for) if the match is bad, especially phase issues or overpowering one cab in a rig.

1. If I have a 4 ohm 2x12 rated at 1200 watts on top of a 4 ohm 1x15 rated at 600, and I'm pushing 700 watts thru it with the gain/volume up enough for my circuit protection light to blink constantly ... what will the 15 cab likely sound like, or what characteristics tell me it is maxed out while the 2x12 isn't breaking a sweat? Will the 15 start farting or breaking up? That's what I'd hear on a guitar amp pushed to the max, are bass cabs the same, does it just start farting and sputtering when it's maxed?

2. If I have a 4 ohm 2x12 rated at 1200 watts underneath a 4 ohm 2x10 rated at 700, and I'm pushing 700 watts thru it with the gain/volume way up there on an outdoor gig ... if the cabs are 'out of phase' or just not synching up somehow, what sound or characteristic am I going to be hearing that tells me specifically it is a phase issue? I have heard speakers within a single cab that were wired incorrectly and was told they were 'out of phase' and it just sounded not quite right.