What to look for in a 1965 Kay?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by fovea1959, Jan 21, 2019.

1. fovea1959

fovea1959

Feb 10, 2009
    Midwest
    I've been playing big band and doing a little combo work for about 10 years. Still playing a '96 Englehardt that I got *cheap*. It's a solid bass, but just doesn't sing; some good string choices and setup have helped a lot (mostly at the high end), but I still just don't like the sound, especially low.

I have been hunting low key for a good replacement for years. I went "pass" on a 5 string Kay about 5 years ago because I couldn't justify the cost and didn't want to deal with a 5 string, but the sound of that bass has haunted me; my wife's head snapped up the instant I hit the first note.

I just found a '65 Kay that needs a little work. After a new endpin, tail gut, a little cosmetic work (it was a school bass, well graffiti'd and edges are horrible), and putting a soundpost pad under the top (it's acquired a little dimple in the top), I'm looking at under $1800. Fingerboard is original and excellent. Neck angle is a little more than I have seen on most Kays, but I don't think it's been shimmed. Bass is coming from a reputable dealer with in-house repair gal. Pegbox and neck are both intact.

Wife listened to it, and agrees it's not the best I ever tried, it's a got a much better sound that what I have now. I also like the idea of getting a used instrument; we had a bad experience with a new violin that didn't break in well....

I have two concerns: the price seems highish; it doesn't seem collectible because of cosmetics and late model, but it's not a lot cheaper than basses I see here that are cleaner and seem to be more collectible. Am I seeing this wrong?

2nd concerns: durability. My Englehardt is a *tank* (and sounds like it), and I'm worried about the neck on the Kay when it's getting wedged into my itty-bitty car. Any thoughts there?

Anything else I need to think about when I take another look at this?