Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

what to look for in a double bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Peccavi, Feb 27, 2005.

1. Peccavi

Peccavi

Dec 24, 2003
    Jonas, pa
    i am new to upright bass and was wondering what to look for when buying a bass? like what is good as in woods, construction, etc..
    i am looking around and have no idea what i am reading about.
    any help would be awesome.

thanks, MO

2. Jazzman

Jazzman

Nov 26, 2002
    Raleigh, NC
    See the newbie links at the top of the page.

3. KSB - Ken Smith

KSB - Ken Smith Banned Commercial User

Mar 1, 2002
    Perkasie, PA USA
    Owner: Ken Smith Basses, Ltd.
    You might be limited to choice by your location. What type of budget do you have for your First D.Bass? Do you have a professional D.Bass teacher? What type of music will you be playing with this as well?

These are some basic questions to help make your choice easier.

4. Info like Ken mentions is very important. Especially price. Laminated (cheaper, not as good), carved (better, more expensive)
    See the thread below on Arnolds New Standards.

5. Ed Fuqua

Ed Fuqua

Dec 13, 1999
    NYC
    Chuck Sher publishes my book, WALKING BASSICS:The Fundamentals of Jazz Bass Playing.
    Money or lottery tickets.

6. I didn't want to be the 1st.

Buried treasure. There are dust bunnies in mine.

7. KSB - Ken Smith

KSB - Ken Smith Banned Commercial User

Mar 1, 2002
    Perkasie, PA USA
    Owner: Ken Smith Basses, Ltd.
    Yup, money was actually the first thing that came to my mind as well.. But, I decided to help the guy.. Jokes come after..lol

8. Ken, there IS money in some of the basses I've seen you post.

9. godoze

godoze

Oct 21, 2002
    actually ken doesn't have a bank account he just keeps his cash stored inside his basses....Oops. Did i say that ? :)

10. Peccavi

Peccavi

Dec 24, 2003