what to look for in a new amp

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Newman, Oct 26, 2000.

1. Newman

Jun 6, 2000
    ok i am looking for a new amp and want to know what i should check for. I want it to be loud enough to play with a drummer and like in a school auditoriom. So probably 100 watts but is watts the only thing that determines loudness?
    used market is gonna be my first priority and im also really looking into the crate bfx 100. That is a little out of my price range but i can try to find a way. So what else should i look into? I am a little new at this so i need instructions. k thx
  2. A Big Speaker :D!
  3. CS

Dec 11, 1999
    Apart from a big speaker heres some basics from a bloke with basic knowledge.

Watts are misleading as there are other factors like speaker efficiency and valve or tube amps sound louder as they distort gradually. The wattage is clean so if you crank an amp it will be louder. Speaker area matters so an 8x10 will appear louder than a 1x10. Also an angled cab aimed at your head or a speaker stand will enable better monitoring. Anyway I am dangerously close to a shotgun answer.

Try 1x15 or 2x10 100-200w combo's with your bass and see what you like. Try to buy one with an extension speaker option so you can add a cab later for those world tours :)
    (I didnt now I need a new amp:()

I dont know anything about Crates. Try looking secondhand

Happy hunting and use your ears
  4. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego