1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What to pair an SVT 5 Pro with ?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Eedwards7891, Sep 1, 2018.

1. Ampeg hlf 4x10 with a 1x15

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Ampeg 6x10 ran mono

3 vote(s)
    100.0%
  1. Eedwards7891

Eedwards7891

Dec 11, 2017
    I recently acquired an ampeg svt 5 pro, and I am AMAZED . It's the first standalone head I've ever bought , so I'm pretty new to it .

With it, I got a Hartke 4x10 XL. The one with the aluminum speakers , haha. The dust caps came unglued , and I reglued them and it started working without sounding terrible.

I realize that it is not adequate for the head. I'm making a rig for drop a tuned stoner doom metal, and I need a loud, big sound.

The SVT 5 Pro is a 1000w head , capable of running bi amp or mono . Ideally, I would like to run it loud enough to keep up with two 150w tube head guitar players . The hartke sounds okay, but I need the loudness, and it falls away and gets farty quick.

I've been looking in to an Ampeg SVT HLF 4x10 and 6x10. I hear the 4X10 is considered to be "boomy", but I dont quite understand what that means . There's not a music store that Carrie's either where I live .

My thoughts are to get the 6x10 and run it with a 1x15, or get the 4x10 and run it with a 2x10 extension I have . The head can carry the 2 ohm load, and the cabs should be able to handle the wattage I think . Plus, I could use the frequency selector feature to send lows to the 15 .

All in all, I just would like some advice.

I want to play LOUD, in drop A#. Also what does "boomy" mean?
    Anyways, thank you for your help

2. JimmyM

JimmyM

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups