1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What to practice most?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by BHorton97, Sep 28, 2013.

1. BHorton97

BHorton97

May 21, 2013
    Hey so I'm a beginning bassist and I currently know how to play my share of songs, but am still working on memorizing the fret board. Should I practice scales or triads or what the most? Btw, thanks for the suggestion on going to study bass guys, it's a great website.

2. Bassist4Eris

Bassist4Eris Frat-Pack Sympathizer

Welcome to the low end! I hope I don't sound flip here, but what you should practice the most is whatever you need to work on most. A teacher could be of help if you need direction here.

If you want to know what's the single most important skill to get under your belt, it's playing with a good rhythmic feel. A metronome is a good tool to have for developing this.

3. Bassist4Eris

Bassist4Eris Frat-Pack Sympathizer

Sorry, I just re-read your question and I see that it was more specific than what my answer targeted.

Knowing scales and arpeggios will certainly help you better understand music, but I'm not sure that's the route to go for memorizing the fretboard.

Honestly, a lot of this is just drilling yourself. Remember that B and C are always one fret apart, as are E and F. The rest are two frets apart. Armed with that knowledge, you can figure out where you are at any time by counting up frets from the open string note.

Also, do this stuff when you're NOT playing bass, too. Thinking it over in your mind while you're driving to work, or taking a shower, etc, is actually quite valuable in cementing the knowledge in your mind.

This type of "mental practicing" can be used with just about any aspect of music, by the way.

4. kalanb

kalanb

Dec 17, 2012