what to practise in 3 hours

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by 33degrees, Jun 6, 2005.

1. 33degrees

Jun 4, 2005
    i am practising daily on double bass for 3 hours.
    i have been playing for a few years but got frustrated with 'winging ' it all the time so now its time for some serious study!
    at the moment i'm doing major keys up every string vertically and horizontilly (at least 2 octaves). i just started practising my dominant and minor 2 chords in the same manner.
    next i will tackle harmonic minor with the minor flat 5 and Dominant flat 9 again in the same manner.
    i have transcribed a few chambers solos, wihich i practise and am starting on some ray brown lines.
    what do you think, anything i left out? im going to buy a bow next week!
  2. Get a decent bow, balanced and straight. Do a lot of slow bow work with a metronome. The extended notes will make your fingers stronger by holding the string down longer. It sounds like you need a teacher to help you with some exercises. It will really pay off to find yourself a good teacher.
    Good luck!
  3. 33degrees

Jun 4, 2005
    thanks for the advice,
    another question: do you have different fingering to play the same scale, for example running an A major scale up the G-string, i have found 2 ways of fingering it depending whether or not im going to go past the octave or come back down.is that correct?
    p.S. im broke at the moment so i cant afford a teacher alhough im going out to watch a lot of upright players as i live in Paris.
  4. I think I once read that Rabbath has over 200 ways of playing each scale.
  5. godoze

Oct 21, 2002
    I dug out some of my college books and amongst them was a book of etudes in which i had written my daily morning regimen:

7am-8am bowing
    8am-9am scales
    9am -10am etudes, excersizes, any pieces that need to be learned.
  6. 33degrees

Jun 4, 2005