1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What Tubes Are Best For The Ampeg SVT3-Pro?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by ryevick, May 25, 2011.

1. ryevick

ryevick

Dec 19, 2009
    I haven't been able to get home to check out the SVT3-Pro I bought online used in like new condition but I want to go ahead and buy a complete set of tubes for it for when ever I decide to change them. I am new to tubes so I haven't got a clue what is good, great or over rated. I would guess my choice will effect my tone but like I say I need some help here.

2. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie

Jul 22, 2007
    Dallas, TX
    In a hybrid amp like the 3Pro, the tubes will typically outlast your love for the amp. Iow, possibly decades. No need to change them until they actually fail, and that could be a long time from now. Just enjoy the amp.

3. ryevick

ryevick

Dec 19, 2009

I suppose the amp will not operate if a tube fails correct? That's how you know theyve failed?

4. Jim C

Jim C Is that what you meant to play or is this jazz? Supporting Member

Nov 29, 2008
    Bethesda, MD
    My 3 Pro failed twice for bad solder joints and there are probably 100 other reasons for it to stop working.
    I tried a number of different tubes in the 3 Pro and even expensive Mullards did not make it sound that much better / different

5. ryevick

ryevick

Dec 19, 2009
    But if a tube fails you will know it, right?

6. Jim C

Jim C Is that what you meant to play or is this jazz? Supporting Member

Nov 29, 2008
    Bethesda, MD
    Yes a dead tube will cause and obvious problems

7. +1 on all of this.

I had 4 replaced before I gave up on the SVT 3 PRO lol. Changing preamps tubes didn't help with sound.

8. ryevick

ryevick

Dec 19, 2009