1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

What type of amp to buy

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by elmonosucio, Apr 2, 2006.

1. I am new to bass guitar and want to know what type of amp to get, one that is good but not too expensive, so pretty much a beginner amp.

2. BadB

BadB

May 25, 2005
    AZ, USA
    Are you serious about playing? If you are, spend the money. Great sound is very inspirational when just starting out. Plus it'll keep you from G.A.S. You'll play more and shop less. If you're just piddling, at least stay away from Crate.

3. I am serious about playing, but don't have an enormous amount of money to spend on an amp because i also need to buy my bass. Do you have any suggestions on what I should get, like brand names and models?

4. BadB

BadB

May 25, 2005
    AZ, USA
    What do you have to spend? And what type of music? Fill out your profile, too.

5. lbpark

lbpark

Apr 23, 2005
    Mobile, Al.
    Price range and type of music you want to play would help.

6. I can spend up to 200 dollars on the amp, and for the type of music I enjoy listening to, would be almost all classical rock, but if I had to pick a favorite band it would be Red Hot Chili Peppers.

7. BadB

BadB

May 25, 2005
    AZ, USA
    Well, if you're trying to cop that tone, it's a GK amp and an Ernie Ball Stingray that he used for a lot of years. Not cheap. For $200, there ain't much. Try Musician's Friend or similar and shop by price. As for the bass, get some that ain't a POS. I did, and 25 years later, that hunk of unplayable crap still feels familiar in my hands!:eek: I developed some bad habits compensating for it's poor construction. May I ask how much you're spending on the bass?

8. A good starter rig that you can play out with would be:

Fender Standard Jazz bass (mexico) $299 +