what type of amp?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by tormos, Jun 5, 2004.

1. tormos

Jun 5, 2004
    I have been playing for a couple of years now, and am ready to purchase a new amp. I have been using just a practice amp.

What should I start looking at? A combo or head/cab stack?

What brands should I start looking at?

What about speaker size? 12" or 15"?

What wattage?

I know these things depend on what I use it for so...

I play hard rock with a progressive edge to it. I like a dark sound but do need some clarity. Most of the music I play is riff based. I don't gig (yet) I just write with a guitar friend of mine. We do record though. We are looking for a drummer to write with and possibly start looking for gigs with so I would like something with enough power to do small venues.

As far as budget, I dont really want to spend over $500.

Thanks for any direction you an give me.
  2. Emprov

Mar 19, 2003
    If I had that budget I'd probably look in the direction of a used SRW Super Redhead or something along those lines. New, they cost over $1k but I've seen them in consignment and second hand shops for around $500. 210, 350w with room for an expansion cab, should be perfect for you.
  3. Randi

Jun 4, 2004
    Camron Park CA