What type of basses?

Discussion in 'Ask Steve Lawson & Michael Manring' started by B8ssMan89, Aug 23, 2004.

1. Hey Steve and Michael!
    Just so you know, I love both of y'alls music.
    I was just wondering, what basses you both own now, and what basses y'all owned when y'all first started learning?

Also, I've been playing a 4 string bass for 1 1/2 years now self-taught I might add. I want to upgrade to a 5 or a 6 string bass. And I wanted you recomendation on some. Thanks alot guys!
  2. Steve Lawson

Steve Lawson Solo Bass Exploration! Supporting Member

Apr 21, 2000
    Birmingham, UK
    Hi There

I own four basses - three modulus, one Rick Turner. The moduli are two custom 6 strings, one fretted one fretless, and a fretted four. The Rick Turner is a five string fretless Renassaince (I never get the spelling on that right!).

My very first bass was a short scale SG bass copy - cost £25 (about $40), and I thought it was fantastic. Then got a Westone Spectrum DX, then a Fender Jazz, then the first of the Moduli. I also owned a Modulus VJazz Fretless for a while, which was beautiful.

As for recommending basses - it's pretty tough without knowing the size of your hands and the way you play. On a six string, the spacing and neck profile are really crucial to finding a bass that feels comfortable. Some people like wider spacing, others more narrow... Your best bet is to try as many as you can. Yamaha, Ibanez, Dean and a few others make pretty good mid-priced 6-string basses. Try 'em all! :)

3. Michael Manring

Michael Manring TalkBass Pro Supporting Member

Apr 1, 2000