What type of body wood is your bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by cassanova, Dec 18, 2004.

1. cassanova

Sep 4, 2000
    I'm trying to get some ideas of what would be a good body wood to use for my next bass. I have to admit, I'm somewhat ignorant when it comes to this topic. The only thing I know is that maple is very bright and not for me.

I'd like to know what your bass is made from and if you could point me in the dirrection of a sound clip of it or perhaps post one in this thread here. If you can't do that, please describe your tone as best you can. Especially if you are a Cirrus owner, as this is the one I'm looking at building.

I really appriciate this.
    Mama Cass :bassist:
  2. smarvelous

Jun 2, 2002
    Albany, CA
    Here's a description of various body woods from the warmouth site:

I'm no expert but here's what I have observed...

My modulus is alder. Probably the most common body wood. My fender MIM P bass is ash (probably swamp ash, as it is very light). Both of these woods are considered top notch for their light weight and balanced resonant tone (low to high). Alder with some kind of maple top is probably the most used body wood in quality basses (I'm taking an educated guess) though their are many other options.

Many basses have fancy "tops", the top 1/2" or so of the body, for looks. Maple is very common (my modulus has a beautiful figured maple top) By most accounts, this does not affect the fundamental tone of the body wood much.

go to http://www.basstasters.com/ for sound clips of various basses. They are recorded in a controlled fashion, but bear in mind pickups and strings have a big impact on the tone. Notice how many of the bass bodies are listed as.... alder.
  3. Diewos

Feb 27, 2003