1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

What type of pedal for getting that loud and equal sound

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by dogwillhunt80, Mar 12, 2013.

1. dogwillhunt80

dogwillhunt80

Apr 13, 2012
    Hey everyone.

I'm a bass noob so go easy on me.

I find that when I play my bass, whether it's my own small practice amp or my friend's big amp when I go there to jam, the E and A stringed notes sound big and clear but as far as notes from the D and G string, they're barely audible, most especially the G string.

I have tried to muck around with the settings on the amps and nothing really seems to do the trick.

I have heard of pedals that MAY be what I am looking for to fix this issue but I don't know which one would do it, if any.

Is this something that either an equalizer, limiter/enhancer, or compression pedal would fix? If not, what can be done?

If so, which would be best for my situation? Thanks.

I should also mention that I've tried three different basses and I'm getting the same issue on all of them.

2. thomas-k

thomas-k

Nov 9, 2008
    Grasse, France
    Maybe start with checking the pickup height, and fresh strings.

3. Unrepresented

Unrepresented Something Borderline Offensive

Jul 1, 2006
    San Diego, CA
    Yes. A Limiter or a compressor will do that for you, but if the output variance is that great, you may have better luck by making sure that the pickup height is balanced for a consistent output across the strings. Compression and limiting do other things to your sound you may or may not like besides simply balancing volume across the strings.:)

4. knumbskull

knumbskull

Jul 28, 2007
    UK