Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What was your first ever....

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by absinthe, Feb 6, 2002.

1. absinthe

absinthe Guest

Jan 20, 2002
    Great Britain
    ....bassline?

As in the first *tune* you ever learned to play, not scales, arpeggios etc. The things you played along with that made you feel: "Hey, I'm a musician! I'm keeping up with the band!"

I'll go so far as to name my first three::

1. Green Onions - (Booker T & the MG's)
    2. These Boots Were Made for Walking - (Nancy Sinatra)
    3. Day Tripper - (The Beatles)
      [/list=1]

1. I also learned some 12 bar blues in amongst these too, (and use them mainly as practice and warm up exercises) but they don't count as play-along-with-the-band-basslines.

Do you still play your first basslines today? I do, but then, I haven't been going for very long... :p

Bring out your dead!

2. Hi there,

Mine has to be Pink Floyd's "Money" which, strangely, is the first one I picked up on when I started playing bass. Boots and Onions I still need work on, even though they're less complex. Go fig.

And while you were posting, I snuck some practice time on your Washburn. Mute that!! :D

3. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

Does it count if I composed my first bassline? I started in church at age 12, and played along with the typical I-IV-V stuff that is in the hymnals. But I guess I didn't compose those basslines.

But I was in my first band at 15 or so, and composed basslines to all of our songs, 3 or 4 years before I ever tried to play someone else's stuff.

4. barroso

barroso

Aug 16, 2000
    Italia
    Kiss "love gun" and then The Doors "rider of the storm"

5. warwickbass

warwickbass

Dec 8, 2001
    Minnesota