Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What was your first REAL bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Josh Curry, Jun 30, 2003.

1. Josh Curry

Josh Curry

May 29, 2003
    Frisco, TX
    I liked the 'what was your first bass' thread. But A lot of us just had cheap junk basses. HOw about what was your first REAL bass, I mean the pimp daddy one that you saved for years to buy and how long you were playing till you bought it.

OK, here I go...

Mine was a Pedulla ET-6 and I bought it in 1994, approx 4 years after I started playing. I still have it :) I gig with it, I record with it, I sleep with it, uh, I mean... ;)

I'll edit this post and add a pic of it later.

2. steve-o

steve-o Guest

Apr 17, 2002
    mine was a spector...but i sold it to get my MIA jazz...which i still have...almost a year..

steve

3. uh...i guess my ibanez GSR200 which was my first bass that i still have.. ~ Tyler

4. Turock

Turock Supporting Member

Apr 30, 2000
    Melnibone
    Rickenbacker 4001, bought new in the early '70s. Some bast@rd broke into my house and stole it, among other things.

5. Woodchuck

Woodchuck

Apr 21, 2000
    Atlanta / Macon (sigh)
    Gallien Krueger for the last 12 years!
    Tobias Growler. I got it after I'd been playing for about 3 months.

6. bikeplate

bikeplate Supporting Member

Jun 7, 2001
    Upstate NY
    Hi!

I was 16 and I sold my baseball card collection to get a Steinberger!! Serial #554! in 1982! I kept it about a year and traded it straight up for an Alembic which I still have. It's now retired but saw hundreds of gigs!

Rob

7. Stingray4Christ

Stingray4Christ

Jan 28, 2003
    NY
    I bought an EB Stingray 5 about a year after I started playing. The old mexi P Bass just wasn't holding its own anymore.

8. My MIA Hot-Rod P-bass. I love it...im never planning on getting rid of it.

9. sdguyman

sdguyman

Jan 31, 2003
    San Diego