What will different gauge strings do to my tone????

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by ldiezman, Feb 3, 2002.

1. ldiezman

Jul 11, 2001
    I have Medium gauge EB slinkys on my ray 5 right now.. If I were to put say a lighter gauge on, what would that do to my tone? would I loose any sustain? I've only used Medium gauge strings since i've been playing bass.. but I think i might want to try out something else just to see if I like it.. Are lighter strings better for slap bass? what are the advantages??? thanks guys.. I'm not the biggest expert with strings.. any info would be great.

2. warwickbass

Dec 8, 2001
    I have no firm knowledge on this matter, but IMO the heavier the gauge the more mids they put off.
  3. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

Some "string" rules of thumb (no pun intended):

- Heavier gauge = more sustain, "bigger" tone, more fundamental

- Stainless steel = brighter tone, more response,

- Nickel = more thumpy, rounder

There are other factors to consider besides those generalizations, like wrapping, iron content, string design (e.g., roundwound, flatwound, halfwoud, groundwound, tapered, et al), and how the action is set on your bass. Closer to the pups gives you more volume but the sound deteriorates more as you get the strings and pups closer.

Also, remember the tone that sounds so great when you play the bass alone may not sound all that great with other instruments. So, for example, those SS roundwounds that sound so great because they are so "glassy" and "raw" may not sound so great with your other band members.

DR Hi Beams and Lo Riders are among the most-favored slap strings. No, I don't use either one currently. But, lots of bassists who slap like them.
  4. BoogieNight

Jun 15, 2001
    I've recently changed my string gauge from 045 to 040's.