Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What would you pay...

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Vin, Feb 11, 2006.

1. Vin

Vin

Jul 3, 2003
    West Chester, PA
    Hey everyone,

I know a guy selling a Kay Orchestra series 0-100B.
    It's a beautiful blonde bass, no splits in the wood, minimal scratches, no cracks or repairs to the neck or headstock. the thing is beautiful.

Since I'm new to the URB, I don't want to pay a fortune for a pile of kindling, so i'm looking for advice on the price range. as long as it plays nice, and considering the condition as i explained it, what is a fair price? if you were in the market what would you pay?

I appreciate your input. I can't wait to get a bass so i can participate in the forums on a level deeper than variations on the "what's a good bass for a beginner for less than XXX bucks?" theme.

Thanks!

-Vin.

2. nicklloyd

nicklloyd Supporting Member/Luthier

Jan 27, 2002
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Have you read through the newbie stickys at the top of each page? There is a great deal of information.

The best thing to do in your case is get this instrument on a 3 day trial period and have it looked at by a knowledgeable third party: professional bassist or luthier. Can you post some pictures?

3. Vin

Vin

Jul 3, 2003
    West Chester, PA
    Yeah i've read through them. I've learned a ton from this site, and i appreciate it.

The reason i'm asking is because on the Kay site, it says these models go from $1200 to 2000 with the blondes going for a few hundred more. That's a pretty huge window. My judgment is clouded by my excitement to get it and i wanted some advice from some cooler heads who aren't really in the market to buy this thing.