What year is it?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Matthew Bryson, Aug 29, 2003.

1. Matthew Bryson

Matthew Bryson Guest

Jul 30, 2001
    Or more appropriately, I should ask - how do you say the year. What I mean is, I was born in nineteen seventy four. Nobody ever said one thousand nine hundred and seventy four. I graduated HS in nineteen ninety three. This is how we said our years until the new millennium came along and we all got screwed up. Now everybody seems to say "two thousand and three". Why did everyone change the format? I understand that two thousand was kind of an exception because it didn't really fit the old format, but can't we get back to the old familiar format and start saying that this is twenty ought three (that is what I say, but I seem alone on this) or if you don't want to say ought, I suppose you could say twenty o three or something. Is it that people don't know what to do with the zero, is that the problem? Will people get back to normal? When? Twenty ten, twenty eleven? I'd like everyone to start saying twenty ought three or twenty 'o three right now. Am I alone on this?
  2. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    I never say any of that, it's zweitausend(und)drei :p
  3. jazzbo

Aug 25, 2000
    San Francisco, CA
    I always say,

"2000 zero zero, parties over, oops, outta time."
  4. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

That explains drunken postings in OT, if you always "...party like it's nineteen ninety nine!!!"!:D
  5. Tvöþúsund og þrjú. :smug:
  6. moley

Sep 5, 2002
    Hampshire, UK
    No, I don't particularly want people to say twenty ought three! I've never heard anyone say ought like that!

I think once we get into the tens people will start saying twenty-ten, twenty-fifteen etc. And I'm sure once we get into the twenties, it'll be twenty-twenty-five etc.

But I'm not particularly annoyed by people saying two-thousand-and-three etc.