What you need and How to Record to Computer

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by skit_skittson, Mar 14, 2002.

1. I'm very very new at recording, actually I've only recorded on a four track. What sound cards and/or programs would I need to record music onto my computer so that I can make my own cds or whatever. Also what other equipment is necessary. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks. Long Live the BASS!!!
  2. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    This will be a little short, since I should be in bed really (2 AM here in good ol' Germoney), I'll add things later or others may also post valuable info.

1. Soundcards:

I recommend getting a decent card with ASIO drivers, since they usually offer better sound and audio recording capabilities.
    ASIO is a driver interface introduced by Steinberg (the makers of Cubase and Nuendo), which offers low latency (amount of time the PC needs to process audio, e.g. play a sound) and additional functionality for audio recording such as direct monitoring).
    Very good entry-level cards are Midiman/M-Audio's Delta Audiophile 2496 card (200$), Terratec or Hoontech.

Consumer cards for gaming are ok too, but you'll eventually find that they lack audio quality and/or recording functionality. Gaming features like 3D sound are useless for audio recording, as are consumer DSP (digital sound processing) features like on the Soundblaster cards. Those won't be usable in audio sequencer programs and don't sound good.

Stay away from Creative Labs cards like the SBLive or Audigy. The audio forums worldwide are full with complaints. CL advertises them as recording cards, but they're really cards for gamers.

2. Audio sequencer program

These work like a mixing desk with a multitrack tape.

If you can afford it, get an ASIO-capable one.