1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What's A Charango?

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by BassFishingInAmerica, Apr 4, 2015.

1. BassFishingInAmerica

BassFishingInAmerica

Jul 24, 2014
    I saw this on eBay. I know it is not a bass, but the story is too funny not to post for other stringed instrument players.
    image. image.
    image.
    image.
    image.
    So I graduated high school in 1997 in Buenos Aires, Argentina. For graduation gifts other kids got cars, electronics or just good ole cash... I got a charango. I didn't know what a charango was but learned then. It has since that time been sitting in its case for nigh 20 years.
    In all honesty it is beautifully crafted and in great condition - probably on account of it not being touched. I'm marking new because it has not been played...ever. I once made an unsuccessful attempt to tune it but that's it. So, it is new in that it hasn't been used and been protected in its case. It's not new in the fact that it has had a previous owner.
    Fair warning: upon graduation my mother sternly warned not to sell this...and has warned since then. So if you are the lucky buyer and are one day confronted by an angry curly haired lady... it's best to retort 'Yo no hablo ingles.'
    Case is included.

MVE, Haji, PortlandBass77 and 4 others like this.
  2. bholder

bholder Affable Sociopath Supporting Member

Sep 2, 2001
    Vestal, NY
    Received a gift from Sire* (see sig)
    I have a couple, and the even tinier "peanut" one, I forget what it's called, but none of mine are made of critters.

3. Huh... Who knew? I always thought a churango was kind of like a deep fried burrito. :unsure:

4. BassFishingInAmerica

BassFishingInAmerica

Jul 24, 2014
    Yes, I thought the armadillo shell was a bit morbid. I'd be selling it too.

5. bholder

Sep 2, 2001
    Vestal, NY