Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What's a Fender Jazz Bass (MIM) worth?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Josh Curry, Dec 2, 2004.

1. Josh Curry

Josh Curry

May 29, 2003
    Frisco, TX
    I have a chance to get a Fender (made in Mexico) Jazz Bass for $300. Is this a good deal?

Specs:

white, chrome hardware, gotoh bridge, 2 J pickups, white pickguard, etc... typical fender jazz I think. It has flats on it but those will be quick to go.

2. tplyons

tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    What kind of condition? Any mods?

A new one goes for between $350-400.

3. Josh Curry

Josh Curry

May 29, 2003
    Frisco, TX
    it looks totally stock and in good condition. I'm not an expert on Fenders and the pics aren't the greatest.

pics...........

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

4. tplyons

tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    I'd offer $275, but if it's in great shape, I wouldn't mind paying $300 if in fact you love it.

5. Josh Curry

Josh Curry

May 29, 2003
    Frisco, TX
    I'm not particular to these but if it's a good deal I wouldn't mind having one.

6. if it's in kind shape, that's not too bad..

7. Slater

Slater Bye Millen! Hello?

Apr 17, 2000
    The Great Lakes State
    As a general "rule-of-thumb", a reasonable price for a used bass (or guitar) is 1/2 the list price. A MIM Fender Jazz bass lists for $599, so $300 seems like a decent price for the bass pictured above.

After a closer look, I can't quite make out the serial #, but it appears to be MN3124400 (on my monitor). If I have read correctly, then that's a 1993 bass. I might offer a little less than $300 for a 11-12 year old bass.

(Please correct me if I have misread the S/N. The pics are kinda fuzzy.)

8. Quagmagog

Quagmagog

Nov 28, 2004