Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What's a good pick gauge?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by thor16, Aug 28, 2004.

1. thor16

thor16

Jun 16, 2004
    I've been playing for a couple months now, and I've been playing fingerstyle. I would like to at least familiarize myself with playing with a pick. So what gauge do you guys suggest? I know they have to be heavy, but some brands come in mm measurements.

2. slugworth

slugworth Banned

Jun 12, 2003
    So. Calif.
    I use Clayton .80mm

Slug

3. Squidfinger

Squidfinger I wish I could sing like Rick Danko.

Jan 7, 2004
    Shreveport LA
    This is something you're going to have to find out for yourself. Just go down to your local music store with a few bucks and buy a selection of picks in different shapes, materials, and thicknesses.

I prefer the smaller teardrop shaped picks over the traditional triangle picks. As for gauge, I prefer Dunlop big stubby 3mm's.

4. I Like hard picks hate soft or flexible picks ( too weak ) anyway I use a jim dunlop stubby 3 mm but thats just me it really is up to you and what you feel comfortable with

5. I use heavies or mediums, maybe .80 to 1 mm or so. Too floppy gives a poor sound in my opinion, but I like a little flexibility.

6. Adam Barkley

Adam Barkley Mayday!

Aug 26, 2003
    Jackson, MS
    I'll go against the crowd this time, I use a .60mm nylon I tried heavies but I ended up pulling the string to hard. Also I couldn't play up empo at all with anything over a 1.0mm.

I also like them to have a good flex to them.

p.s. If you want to see something cool check an old NAMM video of Jauqo III X slapping with a pick in between his pinky and ring fingers. He would slap and then add faast embellishments with the pick, very very cool. I picked it up with a little practice, something to try if you want to learn a new technique.

7. Chris A