Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What's a good sign that you need a shorter scale Bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by AltIII, Jan 6, 2004.

1. AltIII

AltIII

Sep 3, 2002
    Hey, I've been playing bass for about six years an d for six years I have used a squire p-bass (don't tell me how much I suck for owning that bass, it was a birthday present.) When I started, I had trouble with the span of my hand and not being able to easily go quickly from... say fret 1 to fret 4 (or the equivilent). This has cause troubles when I wanted to play ska songs or fast paced Jazz. I figured that as I kept on playing, my hand would adjust. Now it's six years later and not much adjustment has been made. I still strain to leap from fret 1 to fret 4, and even I do manage to reach, it's hard to do so accurately enough for any musical value.
    So, is this a good sign that I need a short scale bass? If so, could you recommend one that's inexpensive and doesn't suck. if you think a short scale bass is not needed, what are my other options?

2. WOOFMAN

WOOFMAN

Mar 12, 2003
    USA, PNW
    Exactly how small are your hands? Measure from the wrist crease to the tip of the middle finger in inches.

3. ampegloud

ampegloud Guest

Oct 14, 2002
    kansas city mo
    heh dude if the bass player for the metal band kittie can play a 5 string esp ltd bass and she is only about 5 ft 4,and small hands im sure you can,you dont need a short scale bass ,concintrate on your tecnic first ,forget theary notes etc, for right now just get your skill down and play with a drum machine ,very important,yes learn the notes on the fret board too the best group to learn technic and timing is ac\dc,they are an example of perfect timing,you keep up with cliff williams and your doin good,gtta learn that first be4 you go on to billy sheean ,or geddy lee,or victor wooton

4. JMX