Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

what's gauge string to use?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by puppet654, Jul 28, 2000.

1. puppet654

puppet654 Guest

Apr 6, 2000
    alright, I've gotta get new strings for my bass, it's a Squier P-bass, the problem is, I'm new to the string thing, so I don't know what the gauge thing is all about, I want my strings to be tight, so should I get something with a high number? I want D'addario nickel strings. I want a bright sound but without much finger noise(I hate the sound when my fingers slide on the strings) I heard from a friend bassist that D'addarios are the best he's had, and they're cheap too, so that's cool, I just don't know the gauge. HELP!!!!!!!!

2. Slater

Slater Bye Millen! Hello?

Apr 17, 2000
    The Great Lakes State
    I think the most common 4-string sets are 45-105 gauge sets. The only way to find out what you like is by trial and error.

------------------
    Later!

3. puppet654

puppet654 Guest

Apr 6, 2000
    man, that'd get expensive though, strings in stores are like $30 a piece!!! I can get catalog strings for like $20, but that ain't much better.

------------------

4. Slater

Slater Bye Millen! Hello?

Apr 17, 2000
    The Great Lakes State
    <BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by puppet654:
    man, that'd get expensive though, strings in stores are like $30 a piece!!! I can get catalog strings for like $20, but that ain't much better.

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Welcome to the world of bass playing. Strings are expensive [​IMG]!
    If you happen to buy some strings you're not completely happy with, you may have to live with them for a while. You already know what brand you want, so even if you pick a gauge that isn't quite right for you, it isn't going to be a total loss. Good luck!

------------------
    Later!

5. BassIsBest

BassIsBest