Whats "Minor" about a 2nd?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by eSmith, Sep 7, 2010.

1. OK, I'm a bass newbie and have a question that is bugging me and I'm hoping someone here can help me make sense of it.

So, concerning intervals, the differance between Major and Minor scales is that the 3rd, 6th and 7th scale degrees are flattened a half step. So, a "Major" 3rd flattened half a step is considered a "Minor" 3rd. (same for the 6th and 7th's) This makes sense to me.

My question is, if it is a whole step between the first and second intervals in BOTH the major AND minor scales. Then how and why do we call the second interval a "Minor" 2nd if it is flattened half a step? The minor scale simply doesn't have a flattened second so why do we label it as if it does?

Hope I got the question correct so you guys understand what I'm asking.

Thanks,

-eSmith.

2. mambo4

mambo4

Jun 9, 2006
    Dallas
    No strict rule, but in general:
    "Minor" intervals do not get their name for being part of the Minor Scale.
    "Minor" means 1/2 step lower than its "natural" position in the major scale.
    "Minor/Major" usually applies to 2nd,3rd,6th,7th.

The 4th and 5th don't change from Maj to Min scales,and are "Perfect/diminished/ augmented",
    so it's not unreasonable to suggest that the 2nd should also do this. In fact I see people refer to the "augmented 2nd" often enough.

Part of the reason could also be to avoid confusion with chord types:
    When we say Major, Minor, Augmented or Diminished, there are certain assumptions
    about the 3rd and 5th that might be unintentionally inferred.

Note that many intervals are enharmonic (Major6th and Diminished 7th, or a Minor 3rd and a Augmented 9th)
    and the most appropriate name will depend on the context (usually what chord it shows up in)

lowplaces likes this.