1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What's the best compliment you've ever received as a bass player? PART 2!

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by Thor, Apr 21, 2010.

1. Thor

Thor Gold Supporting Member In Memoriam

2. rditmars

rditmars

Aug 7, 2002
    Boulder, CO
    A bartender gave me a free beer after a set during an open blues jam.

3. Dark Horse

Dark Horse Supporting Member

Jul 31, 2008
    Austin, TX
    2 great compliments recently -

One from a producer I know that has worked with everyone from Carole King to Oasis -

He got up and played some accordion with us and said "you always play the right bass line".

Made me smile.

The other one is from one of the guys in a band I just started playing with. He also plays with Okkervil River, which is a really great band as well. Anyway, since I'm new to the situation I mentioned that if those guys wanted me to play something different or had any ideas, just let me know....to which he replied "honestly, I haven't even been paying attention to the bass because everything sounded exactly the way it should".

Made me smile again.

I don't care to be a flashy player...I just want to play what fits the song, which sometimes means "laying back", and sometimes means "stepping up"... so these two compliments from guys I respect meant a lot.

:)

Zodion and Munjibunga like this.
  4. XXL

XXL Supporting Member

Jun 14, 2007
    I went to a jam session and the house drummer asked .." damn boy how old are you? " "I'm 36 " I said, he says " You play well beyond your years , with maturity I only seem to get with guys playing bass well into thier 50's and 60's." Never heard that one before but it sure made me feel accomplished about my playing.:cool:

5. JoZac21

JoZac21

Nov 30, 2009
    Brooklyn, NY