1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What's the big deal about Rickenbacker?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by snake23, Mar 16, 2008.

1. snake23

snake23

Dec 3, 2006
    A friend of mine just purchased a 1970's and 2001 model Ric. I played both of them, this is my first time playing a Ric and to be honest I thought they both kinda sucked. I don't see what the big deal is and why everyone thinks they are so great and why they cost so much. I have a 400 dollar Ibanez bass that i plugged in right after and it blew the Ric away in sound and playability. Am I missing something here?

2. Different strokes for different folks?

3. snake23

snake23

Dec 3, 2006
    I understand people like different things for different reasons, was curious why some people like them so much. They are great looking basses but from everything I've read I was expecting much more.

4. jim primate

jim primate bass guitarist.

what was the ibanez?
    how about the strings on either, new old?
    how was the amp eq'ed?
    what kind of sound do you generally like?

there's a couple things to make your argument, unfortunately most of them are subjective.

was your bass a neck through?
    made in america?
    maple neck with laquered rosewood fretboard and a walnut body?
    singlecoil?
    passive?
    aluminum bridge?

hm?

5. bongomania

bongomania Gold Supporting Member Commercial User

Oct 17, 2005
    PDX, OR
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    For one thing, the sound is unique- either you want the Ric tone or you don't. For another, many of the famous Ric players had their own technique and an amp rig that was well-matched to the tone and technique. Take away the player and the amp rig, and you have a bass that just doesn't sound quite like you're used to.

6. snake23

snake23

Dec 3, 2006