1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What's the Deal with Flats?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by WallyN, Feb 27, 2013.

1. WallyN

WallyN

Jan 11, 2013
    OK I guess you would say I am fairly new to bass. This weekend I am getting my new Classic 50's P in Honey Blonde (Cant wait!) and lately all I keep reading is how flats really bring out the tone yada yada.

I have only used rounds, sometimes coated (DR Neons on my ESP TA-200 which I really like the feel of)

Since I am picking up the new bass I figured I would get some new strings and want to know what exactly the flats provide?

2. Bassist4Eris

Bassist4Eris Frat-Pack Sympathizer

They basically sound more old-school. Not a lot of treble, more about bottom end thump. Think classic motown, blues, etc. They're not better than rounds, just different.

3. Floyd Eye

Floyd Eye Banned

Feb 21, 2010
    St. Louis
    Silky smooth texture. Extremely long life. Very little sustain or high end. Perfect for Motown, some classic rock and Jazz. Not so good for metal or modern rock. IMO.

4. Mushroo

Mushroo Supporting Member

Apr 2, 2007
    Massachusetts, USA
    The classic 50's P Bass sound is of course flatwounds (since roundwounds weren't invented until the 60s). If you search on Youtube, you'll find clips of people comparing roundwound vs. flatwound strings (including on a P bass). :)

ps if you want to hear flatwounds used for metal, check out Steve Harris of Iron Maiden.

5. Stone Soup

Stone Soup

Dec 3, 2012
    My LaBella's sustain as long as any round I've ever used.

6. Consider the lily.... I mean Tapewounds. U can still get a good twang, workable for slap even, but have a great old school thump too.
    Labella, Fender,GHS,D'addario...