1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

What's the difference between 30, 32, 34, or 35?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by AudioDwebe, Jan 11, 2012.

1. I'm new to bass and don't understand the diffeernce between the short or medium or long scale instruments. When folks talk of the length, what is being measured? From where to where?

And do the notes change based on the length of scale? Meaning, would an open string E on a 30" be the same note as an open E string on a 35"?

Are the strings more taut on the longer scaled instruments to bring the same note as the shorter scaled ones?

Thanks.

Mamoru

2. Thanks, man, appreciate it.

So, from reading that, I gather than a shorter scaled bass will sound warmer than a longer one, right?

Or maybe it "should" everything else being equal?

3. SteveC

SteveC Moderator Staff Member

Nov 12, 2004
    North Dakota
    2"
    4"
    5"

Sorry. :ninja:;)

4. I expected that to be the first response.

What took ya so long? :)

5. experimental bassist

experimental bassist

Mar 15, 2009
    Two things:

It's hard to use words to describe "tone".

Generalizations are often not always truth.

With that said, IMO, shortscales are not necessarily "warmer", but what I would describe as "darker".

Longer scales have louder overtones, and would sound more piano-like.

Shorter scales, yes the overtones are there, but the fundamental is more powerful and present.

Is this "warmer", or "darker", or "deeper"? You'll have to decide when you hear it.

For example, many Reggae bassists like shortscales. And many 5 string bass players like 35" scales for more definition and clarity from that big fat low B string.

6. bongomania

bongomania Gold Supporting Member Commercial User

Oct 17, 2005
    PDX, OR
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs