1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

What's the next big trend?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by chanson, Jun 7, 2019.

1. chanson

chanson Supporting Member

Hey all, I've noticed since I started playing bass again last year that there is a lot of hype around fanned fret and headless basses...sometimes even both at the same time! A lot of manufacturers seem to be throwing their hats in the ring for what seems to me like the current trend. Certainly neither of these are new designs, but in certain circles of music they seem pretty ubiquitous at the moment and are pretty hard to ignore.

The point of this post isnt to criticize, or speak poorly about anyone who makes or owns a bass in this category, but instead to discuss what the "next big thing" might be. What is the next hype going to be around in bass design in say 5 or 10 years? Any predictions?

2. chris_b

chris_b

Jun 2, 2007
    Fanned fret seems to be a niche product. IMO the big things on the horizon for the bass players is in amps and cabs. The big move was neo and D class. These things are only going to get better over time. In 70 years the bass players that are left will still be playing Jazz and P basses but their amps will be making them sound even better than they do today.

3. Warpeg

Warpeg Supporting Member

Jun 20, 2005
    Ohio
    I think the next big thing will be a customer focus on quality at lower prices. The incoming generations care less about brand names and status, and more about cost and quality. Innovation will become even less important, while good construction will be king.

That all being said, I would also guess that many Fenders and a select few other brands’ older instruments will retain value, but the next class of basses will be marketed much differently than what we’re currently used to.

4. Scottgun

Scottgun

Jan 24, 2004
    South Carolina