1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Whats the Proper way to wetsand?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by lovebrigade, Jul 18, 2008.

1. lovebrigade

lovebrigade

Aug 1, 2007
    Im on the paint stage of my first bass project but am not sure how to wetsand. I looked it up online and most of the results are for cars and some say not to use water, and use other liquids and some say to use water and some say you dont even need a liquid? Whats the best way or best liquid to wetsand with when dealing with paint on wood?

Thanks A lot, LB

2. zac2944

zac2944

Dec 28, 2004
    Rochester, NY
    IME, I use plenty of water to keep the paper from getting clogged, and use a straight sanding motion in alternating directions. I do it by hand with a block. I'm no finishing expert though. I'm sure someone with more experience will chime in soon.

3. tjclem

tjclem Commercial User

Jun 6, 2004
    Central Florida
    Owner and builder Clementbass
    The few times I have done it I add just a drop of dishwashing soap to the water. But I am sure somebody with more knowlege will post.....t

4. 62bass

62bass

Apr 3, 2005
    I've used both mineral oil thinned with Varsol and water. I prefer water only because it's easier to clean up. They both seem to cut as well.

Remember to wash off all the slurry when changing to a finer grit and also remember to change the water at the same time. You don't want any pieces of the coarser sandpaper marking up your finish.

I like to put a drop of dish soap in the water. It seems to help. Also soak the sandpaper for a few minutes before beginning to sand.

5. scottyd

scottyd Commercial User

Nov 17, 2006
    Waco Tx
    Builder/owner Redeemer Basses