what's with the anti-musician thing?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by willgroove2, Mar 11, 2005.

1. willgroove2

Aug 16, 2003
    chicago IL
    Endorsing Artist;Essential sound products,Dunlop, Ergo Instruments
    First i must say that i enjoy this website and these forums.as a pro bassist i have got a lot of info on new gear,player's,and music but i have detected a odd trend.there seems to be a bias against acomplished musicians and the music they make.they are either called "slick and soulless"or "wankers".there have been so many comments on different subjects that fall into the "i would rather just hear someone lay back and play a groove"catagory that i wonder if it's just become something to say.now i make my living playing bass in a wide varity of settings,and i am a avocate of what i call the ability to play"dumb bass"I.E. simple,solid foundational bass that grooves and/or swings.but i also think that one shouldn't limit themself's as far as what you can do or know on the bass.i read in the march '05 issue of bass player magazine a interview with a guy named nate newton from a band called converge who's first sentence say's"i don't have crazy chops,i don't read music and i don't shred" he goes on to say that those skill's are not neccessary for his band and their music, ok ,but to ME that's like saying "i don't know how to read english but i don't have to because i never go out of my neiborhood".to me strong chops and musical knowlege= great groove and strong pocket,what do you guy's think?
  2. jazzbo

Aug 25, 2000
    San Francisco, CA
    I think musicians need to start caring a little bit less about what others think and create the art that we want to create.
  3. Have you ever read a text that was just overly pretentious in the choice of words though. Ok, the guy has mastered the english language and a vocabulary that dwarfs mine but that doesn't make his writing an enjoyable read.