whats wrong with hartke

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by heath_the_great, Nov 4, 2004.

1. well as it says? i love hartke amps...a fair few people on here seem to despise them...whats wrong with hartke?
  2. The hartke cab I tried was awesome! That's why I'm getting one to go with my ashdown, it really does give the sound some thunderously low bass and punch.
  3. well ive tried a few heads and cabs, and i love them all...even the small practise amps souded great...

this is my next amp, head first, then cabinet..possibly 2 cabs eventually
  4. DWBass

DWBass The Funkfather

Nothing wrong with Hartke. I just don't think they are fit for 'rockers'! Too clean of a sound. I own 2 Hartke amps and have never had a problem with 'em! I've no experience with the cabs though. The Transporter line just doesn't seem to be able to handle too much power. 200w amp tops into those things. The top of the line cabs seem to have positive reviews though. I don't know. I use Avatars.
  5. andruca

Mar 31, 2004
    Madrid (Spain)
  6. Don MC

Don MC

Oct 24, 2004
    Me too be wonderin' 'bout the Hartke bashing going on in these forums. Like the pic says, I own one too.
    I play in a rock/heavy band and use this rig live as well as at rehearsal.
    3500 head and 410TP + 115XL cabs. The silver thingie in the rack is a Focusrite Penta compressor.

Even though our drummer beats the crap out of his drums and the guitarrists have to turn their volumes up in order to hear themselves over the drums, I have no problem whatsoever getting myself cut through. My master volume is somewhere at 1 or 1,5. Even at that (very low) setting, the rig is incredibly LOUD. And it reaches very low frequencies too. The bass is shaking the very foundation of our rehearsal place.
    If you look closely, you can see my EQ setting which I've found to be most suitable for me and to this particular setup: A little boost at the low end and some cut at the highs.