What's wrong with Johnson?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by lonotes, Jan 20, 2005.

1. lonotes

lonotes A place for everything, & everything out of place

Oct 15, 2003
    Port Richey,FL
    I've seen several posts here that refer to Johnson basses in a negative light, but I never seem to see any specific reasons given. What's wrong with them? I have a Johnson sixer, and I haven't found anything glaringly obvious yet. What have I missed? You won't hurt my feelings, as I bought this on a whim, as a beater, and to see if I would like a six, figuring on buying a better one at a later time. It looks good, feels good and sounds good. As far as my frame of reference goes, I've been playing for about 30 years, and currently own a Lakland Skyline 5501, Spector NS2000/4, Spector NS2000/5, MIM Fender Jazz w/ J-Retro pre, and a '72 Fender Jazz (not RI, I've owned this one since about '82), as well as this Johnson.
  2. Hurley

Feb 12, 2004
    Cape Cod, MA
    If it plays well, the brand doesn't matter. I have a Johnson gui...uh..er..stringed instrument that I picked up for $50 (!). Sounds decent, plays decent - it does what I need it to do. I haven't tried their basses though.
  3. lonotes

lonotes A place for everything, & everything out of place

Oct 15, 2003
    Port Richey,FL