What's your favourite Flecktones tune?

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by ras1983, Aug 16, 2005.

1. ras1983

Dec 28, 2004
    Sydney, Australia
    Since i started playing bas 14 months ago, i have been getting increasingly interested in jazz music, and music as a whole. I was very lucky in that i discovered the flecktones by accident right before i started playing bass, and i began listening to their recordings. I can honestly say that my personal favourite is Stomping Grounds. Many people quote Sinister Minister (which is my 2nd fave), but to me Stomping Grounds defines what the flecktones are all about - one of the best and tightest bands in music today. i especially love the instrumental 'challenges' that the band members take part in. :D

What's your favourite flecktones tune? Why?
  2. elros

Apr 24, 2004
    Proprietor, Helland Musikk Teknologi
    Me, I dig Stomping Grounds too.

Also among my favourites are: Vix 9, Flying Saucer Dudes, UFO Tofu and Almost 12.

But there's so much great stuff from the Béla Fleck and the Flecktones, they all come as a close 2nd. :smug:
  3. My favorite is "Blu Bop".
  4. "The Message" ... among others.
  5. Lochs of Dread, Far East Medley, Magic Fingers and countless others !! :)
  6. i dig ufo tofu and the sinister minister.
  7. I have only heard (in depth)
    1st record
    Flight of the Cosmic Hippo

Of those, I'd have to say
    Flight of the Cosmic Hippo
  8. For some reason I always get a kick out of listening to "Sleeping Dogs Lie" from their Left Of Cool album. I was so excited when I found that my college's library has a whole bunch of their CDs. :)
  9. reitedasc

Jun 23, 2005
    Snatchin'! I tried to transcribe the song to play it with my band, and... well, let`s just say I died.
  10. chaosMK

May 26, 2005
    Albuquerque, NM
    Hi-fi into an old tube amp
    The Sinister Minister... you guys crazy? =)
  11. alapantera

Mar 22, 2004