Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What's your favourite Yes song?

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by Steph Dawe, Aug 13, 2004.

1. How many of you listen to Yes? I've been listening for about two years (my ears are so sore... so sore! :D) and I was wondering what a) other people's thoughts are on Yes and b) what your favourite song is.

Mine are Perpetual Change, Time and a Word, Close to the Edge (of course :D) Roundabout, uh... pretty much most of the stuff on Yessongs and the Keys to Ascencion disc I.

Have any of you done a Yes song as a cover?

2. P. Aaron

P. Aaron Supporting Member

That's a very difficult question to answer. It's like saying ..."I'll have only one Lays Potato Chip!" You can pick a favorite album, but even that's difficult.

3. Rope

Rope

May 27, 2003
    Essexville, MI
    But, if I had to narrow it down to one, I'd go with "Yours is No Disgrace." Mainly for the Howe guitar part.

I saw Yes a couple of years ago at the Symphony Hall in Birmingham, England. They opened with this. It was stunning to see it live and in that setting. The whole show was fantastic, but the opener was my highlight.

4. brianrost

brianrost Gold Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2000
    Boston, Taxachusetts
    Seen All Good People

5. john turner

john turner You don't want to do that. Trust me. Staff Member Administrator

Mar 14, 2000
    atlanta ga
    ooo. i have a hard time picking a favorite album - toss up between tales and drama, probably.

sheesh. i like a lot of yes songs a lot.

a venture
    starship troopers
    soon(ending of gates of delirium)
    tempus fugit (i really enjoyed playing this out live too, fun song)
    revealing science of god

i also like minddrive and the other original tunes on the keys to ascenscion cds.

wow, i'm going to go listen to some yes now :).

6. Bruce Lindfield