What's your first impression of someone playing a P-bass?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Guss, Oct 26, 2002.

1. I've got a squier p-bass that I play on. It's my only one. I've been playing for two years, and think i've outgrown it. What's the first though that enters your head when you see someone playing this bass?

(I wasn't sure wether to put this in "Off topic" or "Basses". sorry)
  2. Depends on how bad you suck.
  3. FretNoMore

FretNoMore * Cooking with GAS *

Jan 25, 2002
    The frozen north
    My first thought with any live music is anticipation, "will it groove", "will it be tight", "wonder if that babe can sing too" :) etc.

Once the first impression is there and the first few bars are played I may start looking for details, both visual and aural. I don't care much what kind of instruments are played.
  4. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

I only care about what comes out of the amp.
  5. JoelEoM

Mar 11, 2002
    Lancaster, PA
    ive played a squier protone p/j for the past 5 years or so. people tend to laugh and ridicule me, and my bass, when i pull it out of the case. ive not had one person make fun of me, or my bass, after im done playing, on the contrary, the same people who were insulting me before they heard me play are the same ones who compliment me after. so what im saying is, this has taught me not to pre-judge someone based on their equipment, but rather wait til ive had a chance to evaluate their actual playing. i wouldnt worry too much about the fact that you play a squier. worry about your playing, and people wont notice what youre playing after awhile.
  6. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    working stiff
  7. Pretty handsome guy.

I just finished mine.:D

Rock on
  8. DanGouge

May 25, 2000
    Like rickbass I let my ears judge. I've heard people playing all sorts of inexpensive basses with amazing chops.