1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

What's your fretboard conditioner of choice?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by steamthief, Jul 18, 2012.

1. steamthief

steamthief

Jan 25, 2006
    Mentone Beach
    I've been using a bottle of Lizard Spit for the last five years or so, which I really like. It darkens rosewood nicely and has the awesome smell of fresh oranges.

It's now almost empty, and I bought it at a shop that's an hour away. Is there another product that's better? Please share your fretboard conditioner of choice and why it's your go to product.

2. pedroims

pedroims

Dec 19, 2007
    Michigan
    I have a set of Dunlop fretboard cleaner and conditioner, it works good, I only use them once a year so I still have plenty of them :), if happens that I bought a used bass with chunks of grime around the frets then I use windex and a used toothbrush.

3. FronTowardEnemy

FronTowardEnemy It is better to go unnoticed, than to suck Supporting Member

Sep 19, 2006
    Plainfield Illinois
    I use lemon oil sparingly on my rosewood boards once a year if that. Penetrates really well, looks and smells good after application. I use to use Lizard Spit all the time until about 6 years ago. My youngest son, 5 or 6 at the time, asked what I was putting on the board. I told him Lizard Spit. He then asked if they had to squeeze their necks to fill the bottle. Too funny! I always will remember that.

4. Pilgrim

Pilgrim Supporting Member

None. They don't need it.

I've never owned a bass that needed any, including my 1963 P which has a 1972 neck on it, and my 1964 EB-0 - both untouched by any ju-ju, magical bird poop or other alleged conditioner. And they've lived their entire lives in low humidity environments.

5. RustyAxe

RustyAxe

Jul 8, 2008
    Connecticut