What's your (music) Story?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by JerseyFunk, Mar 17, 2004.

1. JerseyFunk

Jan 8, 2004
    For me it started when I was about 8 (1978). My Dad had a 1963 Fender Jaguar guitar which I started taking lessons on. This continued for about maybe a few months but I couldn't stick with it. My next dive into music was in school. Fourth grade was when band insturments were introduced. So I took up sax-a-ma-phone. I played alto from 4-6 grade while also taking Piano lessons. 7-8th grade I played tenor and baritone sax but that got old and my parents bought me a Korg Poly-61 keyboard since that was the instrument I had the most interest in. That's when I started playing in a band with a couple of guys. Back then the cool keyboard songs were Jump and I'll Wait by Van Halen and Seperate Ways by Journey to name a few. Our Bass player rarely showed up for practice so I started filling in on the songs that I wasn't playing keys in. That's when I found out I was a Bass player. Back then Geddy was my Idol. He was playing keys and bass and I did my best to emulate him. Been playing Bass ever since.
    What's your story?

2. took piano for a year or two in elementary school, hated practicing every day. finished grade one and quit.

started playing guitar in gr. 8, loved it.

took gr. 9 music, started on french horn.

gr. 10, wanted to be in jazz band, so i picked up the trumpet (same fingerings as fr. horn) and joined percussion ensemble

gr. 11, a friend needed a bass player for a band, and knew that my sister owned a bass and i played guitar, so he asked me.

same time, guy who played bass in all the school groups stopped playing, music teacher recruited me and taught me the basics of playing jazz.

still playing guitar, bass, ukelele, banjo, etc......

that's my story.