Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

What's your status as a bassist/musician?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Slaphappy, Jul 14, 2002.

1. Hobbyist (non-profit, no band bassist ;^)

60 vote(s)
    31.7%
  2. Journeyman (decent work; often with more than one project, but nothing steady)

50 vote(s)
    26.5%
  3. Semi-pro (steady gig, but not enough to live on)

65 vote(s)
    34.4%
  4. Pro (music is my way of life!)

14 vote(s)
    7.4%
  1. I'm a hobbyist/recording artist. I'm happy with that status, but I would like to jam with others a couple times a month for fun, though.

2. LiquidMidnight

LiquidMidnight

Dec 25, 2000
    I voted Semi-pro, though they way my situation is now, I probaly would fall more under Journeyman. My band has been pretty much defunct since our lead guitarist moved to Maine for a job. (He's a linguangist) I just recently did a recording project with other musicians.

3. Zirc

Zirc

May 13, 2001
    Los Angeles
    I needa band, otherwise I'd be semi-pro or pro, I love gigging, it's mah thing.

4. well i have a steady band, but we haven't made one cent at the 7 or so shows we've played so far. i guess that falls into your semi-pro category.

5. I like playing with other musicians in gigs or jams, but my main motivation it's the instrument itself, i need my bass dosis everyday!

EBP

6. Hobbiest / semi-pro :)

I have this " problem ".. when playing solo, i suck *** bigtime.. but when a drummer and guitarist come in, i kick *** bigtime ( so i was told ).