1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

When am I a 'good' bass player?

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by mr_flood, Apr 2, 2013.

1. mr_flood

mr_flood

Mar 18, 2013
    After having not played in 12 years, I picked up the bass again last month when our church's bass player quit. Back when I was an active player I was self-taught with only 4 years under my belt playing originals in a rock band. I played bass 'cause it sounded cool and I liked being on stage rocking out, wasn't really interested in being a 'good' bass player even though many people, even other bass players, said I was good, I knew they didn't know what the hell they were talking about.

Now I'm much older and find myself in a different place. When I picked up the bass again last month I discovered a passion for it that I never had before and find myself practicing every day out of the desire to be better, something I've never done before.

Anyways, I have the goal of becoming a good, solid bass player. So at what point can someone call themselves that? Is there even an objective way of determining it or will it forever be a purely objective call?

2. elgecko

elgecko

Apr 30, 2007
    Anasleim, CA
    It depends on how you define "good".

3. zfunkman

zfunkman

Dec 18, 2012
    Many years ago I had a few lessons with Jeff Berlin and I asked how long it took him to "get good." He kind of laughed . . . then told me that he was still working on it. He explained that music was so vast that there was always someting to work on and reach for.

4. klokker

klokker

Jan 7, 2009
    Steele City, NE
    I consider myself good when I can get up and play a show or whatever and play well. If it sounds and feels good I consider that I'm doing "good".

But I'm not good at sight reading, or improv solos. Pretty decent technically etc.