Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

When did you first start to slap/pop?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by JoBo-86, Jul 5, 2001.

1. Hey peoples, I was just wondering, where along in your music career did you start to play slap stuff (years)? I'm wonderin if im behind or something.

2. Slapping, IMO is not a nessecary skill, and you don't NEED to learn it. I just think it's cool and I started about 6 months after I started playing. I'm at the one year mark now. Don't worry about being behind, just have fun!

3. Tyler Dupont

Tyler Dupont Wesly Headpush

I didn't start to practise slap until about 2 years after I started.. I still used a pick back then. Then once I learned the theme to "Night Court" there was no turning back :D

4. jazzbo

jazzbo

Aug 25, 2000
    San Francisco, CA
    I never once practiced slap/pop. Ever. Then, during a gig, I was introduced at the end of the night by the front man, and he asked me to solo. For gits and shiggles I slapped, and it was my first time ever. You can imagine how dreadful this was. The crowd absolutely adored it. My drummer thought it was the coolest thing since Hanson retired, and I was left to believe that it doesn't take much to impress people. I have recently quit doing it, playing more jazzy solos that delve into more complex rhythms. The crowd is usually unamused.

Oh well.

5. The first time I tried slapping was the first time I picked up a bass. THAT humbled me. I tried hitting the open E, but hit all 4 strings and got a horrible "BLAAAAAAAAAAHCHCODDSUDG" sound. Ive only been trying it seriously for a couple weeks.

6. malthumb

malthumb

Mar 25, 2001
    The Motor City