Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

when did you start playing bass?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Squnk, Sep 9, 2004.

1. Squnk

Squnk

Oct 20, 2002
    a simple question when did you start playing bass, age? year? and all that stuff. tell some storys, tell what made you start to play? why you play? why you still play? thanx for sharing! :bassist:

2. bassjamn

bassjamn

Jan 4, 2002
    San Francisco
    I was in switzerland on a farm with my bros and dad, my older bros had been playing guitar and drums for a few years and convinced me to pick up the 4 string.

They gave me a buncha rush tapes to listen to while out on the farm and i was amazed at Geddy Lee's playing, which got me really itching to learn and play.

We got back and i started playing the weekend Stevie Ray Vaughn's plane crashed. Yeah ...just remember that stuff cause of the importance of the time.

3. James Hart

James Hart

Feb 1, 2002
    toms_river.nj.us
    Endorsing Artist: see profile
    at 12 in 1980 I got started... one of these days I'll get the hang of it. :bassist: Wanted too since I was 7ish

I've got a bio on the bio page of my band link... and my profile has some more info too :cool:

4. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

I was twelve.

I idolized my older brother, who played drums, guitar, and bass. He was 8 1/2 years older than me, and I wanted to be just like him. He tried to teach me guitar, but said that my fingers were too short and stubby. Of course, I overcame this limitation and today can play bass better than he can play anything, although at one time, before he got out of practice, he was an amazing drummer.