1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

When Did You Start Playing & Why

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by bluewine, Mar 14, 2013.

1. bluewine

bluewine Banned

Sep 4, 2008
    WI
    We have done this before, however I think every likes to hear about when people started playing and more important what made you want to play bass guitar in a Rock & Roll band.

Anyone want to share their story?

Blue

2. Syco_bass

Syco_bass Supporting Member

Aug 13, 2008
    Tucson, Arizona
    Custom builder - Arizona Bass Company/Curcio Custom Basses
    My cousin and I started playing guitar when I was 13 and he was 15. After a couple of years, he was much better than I was and the band we started needed a bass player more than 2 guitar players and a keyboardist, so I sold my guitar and bought a PV lawsuit era P bass and an SVT 350/8X10 stack. I've been playing bass ever since (I'm 45 now) and wish I never sold that Pbass and SVT.

Of course like many cover bands we broke up many, many years ago. My cousin went to Berkley College of Music and now lives in California and writes and records music for Disney.

I have no regrets. I love playing and buiding basses as well as playing in, managing and promoting my 2 bands in Tucson, AZ.

Cheers.

3. Marial

Marial weapons-grade plum

Apr 8, 2011
    I've come to enjoy your threads blue. :)