1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

When did you stop taking lessons?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by pontz, Mar 23, 2006.

1. pontz

pontz

Oct 31, 2003
    CT
    I've been playing music for a long time but I've been playing bass for less than 4 years. I took some lessons for a while to learn about technique, but I stopped taking them last summer. I feel like I can take it from here, as long as I keep up with practicing. So I'm curious, those of you who have been plying for a while, if you started off taking lessons, how long did you stick with them for? What was the most beneficial aspect of takling lessons? And if you stopped, how have you progressed since?

Enquiring minds want to know,

Pontz

2. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member In Memoriam

I don't see why you ever need to stop...?

I heard recently that Rufus Reid who has been at the top of his profession as a Jazz Bass player for many decades has taken time off to have lessons....

3. TreeChild

TreeChild

Feb 28, 2005
    Wimberley, TX
    i stopped harcore lessons after about 8 months i think. but every now and then i have a few so that i can ask some questions and learn some new stuff that i may have missed on with my own studies. lessons are good.

4. morf

morf Banned

Feb 17, 2006
    Good teachers are hard to find here. I've been wanting to take lessons (started 6-7 months ago) but I've yet to find someone that will teach me what I want to learn rather than what they think is more fitted.

5. BassChuck

BassChuck Supporting Member

Nov 15, 2005
    Cincinnati
    I'm not currently taking lessons. I've played for 30+ years and taken lessons from all kinds of really fine players and teachers. I don't have any short term goals in bass playing right now that I can't plot a course for myself.