Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

When do you "daisy chain"?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Jammin' Jimmy, Jun 7, 2001.

1. Jammin' Jimmy

Jammin' Jimmy

Jun 6, 2001
    im new at this whole stack thing, im just learning what to daisy chain something is, but im not sure when to do it and for what to do it with. please give me some answers. thanks:)

2. SuperDuck

SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    Wisconsin
    Well, here's what daisy chaining is from a sound guy's point of view, which should be the same for a bassist. (I'm a bassist, I just have a combo anp and don't deal with this stuff ;) ) Anywho, if you take the cable and run from an amp to a cab, you have a working system, yes? Now you have two choices for the second cab, (if you have one that is) you can either run it using the OTHER output of the amp (if you have one that is ;) ), OR you can use the output jack (also called a parallel input) of the first speaker, and plug the other cab into the first cab. That's what "daisy chaining" is.

So daisy chaining is Amp output -> Cab 1 -> Cab 2

while the other way is:

Amp output 1 -> Cab 1
    Amp output 2 -> Cab 2

Watch those impedences!

What we use daisy chaining for is when we don't want to use another power amp for the onstage monitors, and we don't need too many different monitor mixes, or we just don't have enough power amps. Say we had three guys onstage, and the drummer and bassist don't care if they have the same monitor mix. (They're usually not as picky as those pesky guitarists). So, we use one output of a power amp to go to the guitarists monitor, and then daisy chain the other two monitors together so that we don't have to fire up/get another power amp.

3. Ty McNeely

Ty McNeely

Mar 27, 2000
    TX
    Actually, I was under the impression of something different, but I could be wrong...Mikey? Joris? bgavin? Ya'll correct me here.....